Chennai Super Kings – IPL 2021 – Team Guide, Predictions and Players to Watch out For

Winner of three IPLs 2010, 2012, 2018 Chennai Super Kings is always a formidable title challenger and one of favourites to win the IPL this season. Lead by an eternal winner Mahender Singh Dhoni Chennai has the highest win percentage of 61.28 among all IPL teams. The team has also served the suspension from IPL for two years due to alleged betting by owners from July 2015.

Starting Years and First Title of 2010 :

In the inaugural season of 2008 Chennai purchased some big name players like Dhoni, Fleming, Muralitharan, Hayden and Hussey. They went all the way to the final only to be defeated by Rajasthan royals on the very last ball.

In the next season in 2009 they were eliminated in the semifinal by the Southern rival Bengaluru. However their luck finally arrived in 2010 when they won their maidan title by defeating tournament favourite Mumbai Indians by 22 runs in their home ground.

Second Title and Ban Years :

In the 2011, Chennai lost three of their first five games  But then, they won seven of their last eight games to finish second . Chennai faced the top-ranked team Royal Challengers Bangalore in the Qualifying final which they won by 6 wickets thanks. In the final, they faced the RCB again, which was held at their home ground. Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey started with a 133-run first-wicket partnership that helped the Super Kings to post a total of 205/5. Chennai, then, restricted Bangalore to only 147 to win their second consecutive title in the IPL. Vijay was awarded Man of the Match for his match-winning innings of 95. Chennai won all their home games that season becoming the first team in IPL to achieve the same.

Post that Chennai went on to serve the suspension from July 2015.

Chennai’s Third Title and Return From Ban

In 2018 Chennai started off with entertaining one wicket win over the MI in the first match of the season. Playing their first home game in Chennai, they managed to chase down a target of 202 set by the KKR. The team then went on to lose Punjab but return to winning ways by winning three matches in a row.  The league stage ended with the Super Kings in second place behind the Sunrisers. Chennai then went on to score back-to-back victories against the Hyderabad in the first qualifier and in the final to win the IPL for the third time since the inception of the tournament.

The Team of 2020


Murali Vijay

Ambati Rayudu

Suresh Raina

Faf du Plessis

Ruturaj Gaikwad


Shane Watson

Dwayne Bravo

Kedar Jadhav

Ravindra Jadeja

Piyush Chawla

Mitchell Santner

Monu Kumar

Sam Curran


MS Dhoni (Captain)

N Jagadeesan


Shardul Thakur

Deepak Chahar

KM Asif

Imran Tahir

Karn Sharma

Lungi Ngidi

Josh Hazlewood

Ravisrinivasan Sai Kishor

Advertisement :

Buy Latest Redmi (MI) Mobile :

Mobile Phone NameClick to Buy on Amazon
Redmi 8A Dual
Redmi 9A
Redmi 9