IPL 6 – Mumbai Indians win their first title

The Sixth season of the Indian Premier League was played from 3rd April to 26th May 2013. Deccan Chargers became the second team to be terminated from the IPL and it was replaced by a new team Sunrises Hyderabad, also based in Hyderabad.The total number of teams remained 9. Pepsico replaced DLF and bought the title sponsorship for around 3.9 billion.Kolkata Knight Riders were the defending champions.

The Competition

Total Nine teams competed in the 72 league matches and the top four made it to the Playoffs. CSK,MI,RR and Sunrisers Hyderabad were the top four teams in the order. In the first qualifier, top two teams- CSK and MI competed and the winner CSK made it to the finals while MI had the chance to try it’s mettle in the second qualifier. In the eliminator, second play off between 3rd & 4th team- RR & SH the losing SH was eliminated while the winning RR was to face MI in the second qualifier . In second qualifier, MI and RR competed and the winner MI was to challenge the CSK in the finals while the losing RR claimed the third place in the event.CSK & MI both had 22 scored 22 points while the bottom DD could score only 6 points

The Finals

MI won the toss and elected to bat.They had a bad start as Dwayne Smith,Aditya Tare and captain Rohit Sharma were dismissed with only 16 runs on the score board.Dinesh Karthik and Ambati Rayudu helped the score with decent innings but Kieron Pollard’s fiery fifty of 62 off 32 was the one that kept the hopes alive for MI with a final score of 148. Great bowling attack of MI with Lasith Malinga, Mitchell Johnson and Harbhajan Singh destroyed the CSK batsman, starting with a perfect Malinga yorker dismissing their best batsman, Hussy. No CSK batsman other than the captain MS Dhoni could fight to the occasion. Dhoni gave a good fight by scoring 63 not out off 43 balls but no support was there on the other end. CSK could score only 125 and Mumbai Indians finished their title drought with a win by 23 runs.

The Awards

Michel Hussy from CSK scored most runs(733) and won the orange cap.He equaled the highest runs record made by Chris Gayle in the previous IPL. Shane Watson was awarded the Player of the Series. Dwayne Bravo from CSK took the most no of wickets (32) and won the purple cap. He broke the Lasith maligna’s record of highest wickets(28) made in 2011.

The Conclusion

This year the final was played between top two teams also having equal points in league stage. Both the teams had great players and game of champions.Chennai Super Kings made way for 4th consecutive final.Having experienced bowler in the armada helped MI to dominate the CSK and win their maiden IPL title