IPL 5 – Kolkata Knight Rider wins the tournament despite brilliant Chennai Performance

The fifth season of the Indian Premier League was played from 4th April to 27th May 2012. Kochi Tuskers Kerala were terminated making the total number of teams to nine. It was the most competitive season played till then. Many matches had the results in last over and some even gave the winner on the last ball. Overall viewership was also higher than all the previous seasons.Chennai Super Kings were the defending champions and entered the tournament as favourites.

The Competition

Total Nine teams competed in the 72 league matches and top four made it to the Play offs. DD,KKR,MI and CSK were the top four teams in the order. In play offs, top two teams- DD and KKR competed and the winner KKR made it to the finals while DD had the chance to try it’s mettle  in second qualifier. In second play off between 3rd & 4th team- MI & CSK the losing MI was eliminated while the winning CSK was to face DD in the second qualifier . In third play off, DD and CSK competed and the winner CSK was to challenge the KKR in the finals while the losing DD claimed the third place in the event.

 The Finals

MS Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat.Suresh Raina stormed 73 runs off 38 balls and helped CSK to post a good total of 190. KKR didn’t had a good start as the in form captain Gautam Gambhir was dismissed on 2 in the first over itself. But Manvinder Bisla and Jacques kallis staged the inning with a partnership of 136 runs for the second wicket. Later Chennai took some quick wickets and the match came to KKR needing 16 runs off 7 balls with Shakib Al Hasan on strike. Now one no ball turned the game in favour of KKR, as it reduced the target to only 9 runs required in the final over. In Final over,  Manoj Tiwary hit consecutive fours and KKR lifted their maiden IPL trophy defeating the two times Champions CSK.

The Awards

Like previous season,Chris Gayle scored most runs(733) and won the orange cap. Sunil Narine of KKR was awarded the Player of the Series. Morne Morkel from Delhi Daredevils took the most no of wickets (25) and won the purple cap. Special award for fair play was won by the Rajasthan Royals.

The Conclusion

Kolkata Knight Riders played well throughout the season. Solid performances by their top batting order and bowling of Sunil Narine were the main reasons behind their success.Chennai Super Kings entered as defending champions and favourites. They played poorly in league matches but in play offs they played like champions only. In finals the spirit of KKR outplayed CSK.