IPL 4 – Chennai Superkings Second title in a row

The fourth season of the Indian Premier league, the best T20 competition in the world by then, was played from 8th April to 28th May 2011. Two more teams-Pune warriors and Kochi tuskers Kerala joined to make it even more competitive. Play offs were introduced to make it even more interesting and unpredictable.Chennai Super Kings was the defending champion and entered the tournament as favourites.

The Competition-

Total Ten teams competed in the 70 league matches and the top four made it to the Playoffs. RCB,CSK,MI and KKR were the top four teams in the order. In play offs, top two teams- RCB and CSK competed and the winner CSK made it to the finals while RCB had the chance to try it’s mettle in the second qualifier. In the second play off between 3rd & 4th team- MI & KKR the losing KKR was eliminated while the winning MI was to face RCB in the second qualifier . In the third play off, RCB and MI competed and the winner RCB was to challenge the defending champion CSK in the finals while the losing MI claimed the third place in the event.

The Finals

Murali Vijay beautifully smashed 95 runs from 52 balls and helped CSK to set a mammoth target of 206 runs. With Chris Gayle in form, hopes for RCB were more than alive. But the West Indian was dismissed by Ravichandran Ashwin on the fourth ball of the inning on duck and the hopes of RCB were doomed. RCB could make only 147 runs and Chennai Super Kings won comfortably by 58 runs and brought a second consecutive title to their home.

The Award

Chris Gayle scored most runs(608) and won the orange cap. He was also awarded the Player of the Series. Latish Malinga from Mumbai Indians took the most no of wickets (28), won the purple cap and made an all time IPL record for most no of wickets. Special award for fair play was won by the Chennai super Kings.

The Conclusion

Chennai Super Kings entered the tournament as defending champion and favourites and won the second consecutive title. Interestingly none of the Chennai batsman or bowler was among top 3 in their respective category. But they dominated and became the only team to win the trophy the second time.This also asserted the captaincy skills of Mahendra Singh Dhoni.