Rise of Chennai Super Kings – IPL – Season 3

“Par7109822” by aavtarsinghsaini is licensed under CC BY 2.0

After being hosted in South Africa the previous year, IPL returned to India in 2010. Like every season had something new to offer, this season was the first ever cricket tournament in the world that was live broadcast on Youtube and the fans had the pleasure of watching play offs in 3D across movie halls in the country. A new playoff match for third spot between losing semifinalists was also started this year. The tournament was watched by more than 200 million Indians on TV.

The Competition

Total eight teams competed in the 56 league matches and top four made it to the semis. Mumbai Indians with 20 points stood at top of the table while Kings XI Punjab with only 8 points occupied the bottom. Deccan Chargers and Royal Challenger Bangalore competed for the third spot, that Royal Challenger Bangalore won by 9 wickets in a very low scoring match. Mumbai Indians was the best performing and favourite till the finals

The Finals

Mumbai Indians with Sachin Tendulkar in tremendous form entered the finals as clear favourite against Chennai Super Kings. CSK batted first and made a good fighting total of 168/5 with the help of Suresh Raina’s 57 off 35 balls. In response, Sachin Tendulkar gave a good start with 48 off 45 balls but could not get the desired support from the other end as the players kept on losing wickets at regular intervals. In the final overs Pollard made a good show of 27 off 10 balls but it was too little too late. The CSK won their maiden title by 22 runs.

The Awards

Sachin Tendulkar from Mumbai Indians scored most runs (618) and won the orange cap. He was also awarded the Player of the Series. Pragyan Ojha from Deccan Chargers took the most no of wickets (21) and won the purple cap. Special award for fair play was won by the Chennai super Kings. Saurabh Tiwary was awarded the U-23 success of the tournament. Indian players did exceptionally well this season. Four Indian batsmen made it to the list of top 5 batsmen while for bowling all top 5 bowlers were from India.

The Conclusion

Cricket is a game of uncertainties having paramountcy of the game played in the very moment. No matter who the favourite is, the winner is always one who holds his nerve and keep on putting efforts in every single moment of the game. The Mumbai Indians with iconic Sachin Tendulkar in tremendous form was the clear favourite for finals but surprisingly Chennai Super Kings outplayed them and won the title.