Indian Premier League – Season 2 Review – IPL 2009

BCCI’s commitment to IPL season 2 knew no geographical limitations as the political denial lead to globalization of the event. When the Indian Government refused to commit security of the event in the wake of General Elections, the BCCI got it hosted in South Africa. The might of the event injected 100 million dollars to south Africa’s local economy along with 1.63 billion dollars worth contracts with media to broadcast matches live from South Africa to India

The Competition

Total eight teams competed in the 56 league matches and top four made it to the semis. Delhi Daredevils with 20 points stood at top of the table while Kolkata Knight Riders with only 7 points occupied the bottom. Interestingly the top 2 teams were sealed in semis by the teams on 3rd & 4th position.

The Finals

The final took place between Royal challenger Bangalore & Deccan Chargers that Deccan chargers won by 6 runs in a very tense match that was going in any team’s favour till the result was decided. Anil Kumble took 4 wickets for the RCB & was declared the player of the match. Herschel Gibbs from DC was the highest scorer with 53 runs of 48 balls

The Awards

Adam Gilchrist was declared the Player of the series. Matthew Hayden scored the most runs(582) and won the orange cap while R P Singh took the most no of wickets (23)and won the purple cap. Special award for fair play was given to kings XI Punjab. Rohit Sharma was awarded as the U-23 success of the tournament.

The Conclusion

The team that was at bottom in previous season became champion this season and the runner up of this season was at second from bottom in the last season. This shows the competitive nature of the event. The exceptional inning of 85 runs from just 35 balls played by the Adam Gilchrist in the semifinal sealed the fate of Delhi Daredevils that was the best performing & favourite till then. The final turned out to be a game that swung in both team’s favour till the winner was decided. Both the teams played with their best efforts but the spirit of Deccan Chargers became victorious.